With a Love Like That, You Know You Should Be Glad

I woke up a few minutes ago to find The Beatles’ “Hey Jude” playing constantly in my head, probably sparked by a remark on the song’s long duration earlier in the karaoke. I tried to brush it off and get back to sleep but I knew for sure I wouldn’t let myself get away that easily. Bitch. I had to listen to The Beatles’ “1” Compilation CD, which back in junior high initiated my deep and undying love for The Beatles. I just had to. Problem is, I don’t own the CD. Back then I still bought cassette tapes, many of which (lots of The Beatles, Nirvana’s Unplugged In New York, and many more! Argh!) are frustratingly nowhere to be found :( Luckily I infected the Beatles love to my friends, and I copied the CD from one of them. Ha!

But I couldn’t declare victory yet, because I have a shitload of CD-Rs, unlabeled and untagged. Fuck, I thought. It would take me all night (or all morning?) to find it, if I would ever find it at all. But I’ll take up the challenge, and to spice it up just because I have nothing to do and I like to make stupid deals with myself, let’s make a deal. If I don’t find it I can proceed to be miserable all week, but if I do I… don’t need be miserable all week? Or something. Um. Well sorry, I couldn’t think of anything more dramatic or even remotely interesting.

Ahem. Anyway, turns out the gods of laziness, which I imagine are like my very lazy friend whose catchphrase is “LELAH sekali!” and, like, lazily sits around, skipping classes to smoke and complain (haha! yes I have the best friends), are being really kind today. I only played three CD-Rs (the first one being the soundtrack to Stand by Me, which I’m glad I rediscovered) before listening to the harmonica intro to Love Me Do, a victorious smile on my face.

I win this time. 1-0, bitch. Now I can peacefully get back to sleep. Oh can you really, asks evil me. What about Sexy Sadie, Helter Skelter, Don’t Let Me Down? You know you want to listen to them much more than the fucking Long and Winding Road. Now, go look for your darling little cassette tapes. Damn you’re good, I think. But not as good as the internet and streaming mp3s, so fuck you and, after listening to said mp3s, good night.

Good night, time for me to get back to my golden slumbers. I’m guessing it won’t be long until I doze off because it’s been a hard day’s night and I’m so tired. Also if I go on I will keep making disgustingly bad Beatles puns and ask everyone to come together and guess how many Beatles’ song titles are in this paragraph.

(It’s morning already and I ended up reading about the Manson murders. Damn you Wikipedia! Good thing there’s no class today.)

3 responses to “With a Love Like That, You Know You Should Be Glad

  1. Hey, kenapa gak ngunduh aja? bagian dari compulsive disorder kah?Hehehe eniwei ndie, lu jago bener bikin hal yang keliatan kecil jadi menarik, udah pernah bikin cerpen?

  2. No offense, but this is actually the best part:

    Ahem. Anyway, turns out the gods of laziness, which I imagine are like my very lazy friend whose catchphrase is “LELAH sekali!” and, like, lazily sits around, skipping classes to smoke and complain (haha! yes I have the best friends), are being really kind today.

    -R

  3. indieschmindie

    @inal: haha really? thanks ya. hhmmm kayanya pernah buat tugas pas sma cuma sampah bgt seinget gw hahahaha.

    @pangeran psikologi, di bawah rajanya dong hahahha: no prob, none taken. i believe everyone would agree with that part, no?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • 28,982 visitors
